Key-stage overview


Key stage 2 – Primary school

Our key stage 2 curriculum provide an exciting and differentiated approach to learning which develops a wide range of skills and knowledge.  There is an emphasis on thematic learning that provides a broad and balanced range of learning experiences.  The curriculum is delivered in a safe, nurturing environment with a key focus on developing key relationships, based on the nurture group principles.  The teaching focuses on developing the key skills in the morning, particularly literacy and numeracy. All pupils have access to a wide range of ICT provision to develop their digital competency skills.  We use the International Primary Curriculum (IPC) and the Cornerstones Programme to deliver a thematic approach covering the 6 areas of learning (see above).  Pupils also have access to specific PSE, PE, DT, Art and Cycle Studies specialist teachers where they can consolidate these key areas of learning and develop new skills.


Key stage 3 – Secondary school

In key stage 3 we continue to use the nurture principles developed in key stage 2.  Pupils improve their numeracy, literacy and ICT skills alongside using the International Middle Years Curriculum (IMYC) and a thematic based approach to learning to further develop the 6 areas of learning.  Pupils are based in the same classroom (their safe base) with a key teacher and teaching assistants, as well as having access to various subject specialist areas including cycle studies, DT, music, D of E, Drama, PSE and PE.  These wider opportunities develop wider interests and allow all pupils the opportunity to consolidate and improve their social and emotional skills.



Key stage 4 – Secondary school

Pupils in key stage 4 are provided with a broad and balanced range of academic and vocational experiences that promotes independent learning alongside gaining external qualifications.  Pupils are given the opportunity to complete a range of work-related learning as well as meeting with Careers Wales to discuss future pathways relevant to the individual.  The teaching model continues to follow the nurture principles and all pupils have a safe base from which the majority of lessons are delivered.  There are a wide range of qualifications that pupils can access and achieve.  These include, Entry Levels, Essential Skills Wales, GCSEs, Duke of Edinburgh Award Scheme, BTEC, ASDAN and Agored Cymru qualifications.


Key stage 5 – Post 16

The post-16 programme aims to offer continuity and progression allowing all young people to develop a wide range of skills through an individually tailored pathway.  This programme enables all young people to develop key transferable skills in various contexts within a safe and nurturing environment. Through developing these skills and experiences the programme aims to ensure that all young people in post-16 are prepared for the next stage of their educational journey. Careers Wales support all pupils to do this, through regular meetings and information sharing. There is a continued effort to develop appropriate independence skills both in the classroom and during community-based learning. To support successful transitions to their next phase of learning our young people have the opportunity to build upon and extend the qualifications they’ve already achieved.  We focus on a wider range of learning experiences and academic and vocational qualifications to support this.

Find us